Virtual Design Analysis Group is a division of NVentum, LLC.

This unique collaborative endeavor; to utilize the latest reality capture technology to document the artifacts, buildings and campus of History San Jose, provides opportunities for private sector, non-profits and institutions of higher education to work together to solve some of today's most pressing engineering issues. The protocol for retrofitting as-built historic facilities and the use of new technologies to preserve our most prized historic treasures are vital to the continued success and expanded influence of our museums.
This blog will document the challenges and successes of this ambitious, one of a kind project.

Saturday, December 17, 2011

The Relevance of "Capturing History"

              Green Building Standards
The "Capturing History" project is comprised of several important components; each brings it's own unique contribution to the museum's life cycle management and operations plan.  Whether the emphasis is on indoor environmental quality, preservation, condition monitoring, energy conservation, virtual design, asset management or BIM the project cannot move forward without the reality capture, laser scanning and surveying of the campus. The 3D model is the data base and  hub for each and every aspect of the project.
San Jose City Hall
 Though each component of the project has its importance, new green building regulations and future legislation towards sustainable construction can't be overstated. Many communities have adopted green building standards aimed at new construction. Eventually, these regulations will be extended to affect building remodels and retrofits. 
 Those individuals looking to enter the workforce will need knowledge and training in disciplines that embrace sustainability, energy efficiency, environmental stewardship and conservation; all major components of the "Capturing History" project. 
Here is an example of the trend towards green building standards and the importance of this project's BIM/sustainable energy component:
From the webpage of the US Green Building Council- Northern California Chapter:
Out of 109 cities and counties throughout the Bay Area: 
• Most cities and counties began adopting required green building standards starting in
• Forty-four cities and counties have adopted required new commercial green building
standards and nearly all of them are based on the LEED rating system.
• Fifty-one cities and counties have adopted required new residential green building
standards and all of them are based on the Build It Green rating system.
• Local approaches to standards typically require higher standards for larger buildings
and more flexibility for smaller buildings.
New Commercial Construction
• Thirty-nine cities have adopted their green building standard based on the LEED rating
system for new commercial construction. For projects greater than 30,000 square feet,
24 of those cities require a LEED rating level such as Certified, Silver or Gold, while the
other 15 cities at least require a LEED checklist.
• LEED Silver is the most frequently used level and LEED Certified is also common.  San Francisco  Oakland  San Jose  California Energy
New Residential Construction
• Forty-six cities have adopted green building standards, all based on the Build It Green
rating system. Thirty-seven require Green Point Rated and nine of them only require
completion of the Build It Green Checklist.
• Twenty-three cities require a minimum of 50 points  for new residential construction.
This is the most common level among Bay Area cities for new residential construction.
• Fourteen cities require more than 50 points, in which the most common range lies
between 60 - 90 points. San Rafael, San Anselmo and Rohnert Park, require in between
75 – 200 points depending on the threshold.    
• A few cities offer the option of using LEED for Homes certification as an alternative to
the Build It Green rating system.                                                                                                                                                                                                                          
Oakland City Hall
Other Findings
• Forty-two cities and counties require a LEED rating level, such as Certified, Silver or Gold
for new municipal construction.
• Twenty cities and counties require a LEED rating level or checklist for commercial
remodels or renovation projects depending on the project size or valuation. On the
SF City Hall
other hand, six cities require a minimum number of points in the LEED Checklist (usually
ranging from 10 – 35 points).
• Twenty-two cities and counties require 25 – 50 points Green Points Rated for existing
residential buildings depending on the project size or valuation on either the Elements
or Whole-House Build It Green Checklist.